2024 Mayor and Council

Mayor Michele Lee; term expires 12/31/26 – mlee@highbridge.org
Councilwoman Natalie Ferry; term expires 12/31/26 – nferry@highbridge.org
Councilwoman Kelly Matos; term expires 12/31/26 – kmatos@highbridge.org
Councilman Kenneth Doyle; term expires 12/31/25 – kdoyle@highbridge.org
Councilman Curtis Nowell; term expires 12/31/25 – cnowell@highbridge.org
Councilman Christopher Graham; term expires 12/31/24 – cgraham@highbridge.org
Councilman Steven Silvestri; term expires 12/31/24 – ssilvestri@highbridge.org

Council Agendas, Minutes, and Oath

Council meeting agendas and minutes
Oath of Office

About this government

Although High Bridge was settled around 1700 and has been a continuing village or hamlet ever since, the Borough as we know it today with its boundaries and form of government was established on February 19, 1898. It is governed by a Mayor, independently elected for a four year term, and a six-member Common Council, with each Council Member elected to three-year, staggered terms. Each year two seats are ‘open’ on the ballot. The Mayor and Council meet at the High Bridge Fire House which is located at 7 Maryland Avenue; meetings are held on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month, with the exception of July, August, November and December when the Council meets once a month.

The Council is further divided into three-member sub-committees to oversee various departments, (i.e. Police, Public Works, etc.) with each Council Member being the Chair of one or more sub-committees. All are basically volunteers who receive a small compensation to cover out-of-pocket expenses. The Chair of each sub-committee then reports on the consensus of his/her committee at meetings.

All Council meetings are open to the public and any issue or topic may be addressed during the “visitors” portion of the meeting. Everyone is cordially invited to participate.